Winter 2015 , Wed. 21st January, 2015 at the New York Academy of Sciences ; 9-5 ; Light breakfast 8:30

Registration Information.

Please register at the NYAS site. There is a limited amount of space left, and no guarantees of admission if you are unregistered. Please bring ID on the day of the meeting.

Poster Competition: Call for Abstracts -- CLOSED

Submission are invited for a poster competition.  There may be a cap on the total number, so file early!  All posters on site will be judged by a scientific committee, and three or more posters will be selected for special recognition. For complete poster submission instructions, please send an email to Structural10@nyas.org  with 'Abstract Information' in the subject line. There is no need to type a message; instructions will be forwarded automatically. Please call 212.298.8620 with any questions. Deadline for submissions is January 5.


Confirmed Speakers

Jasna Brujic, NYU, 'Probing cell-cell adhesion with biomimetic emulsions'

Bridget Carragher & Clint Potter, NYSBC,  'Understanding molecular machines:  The perspective of the Electron Microscopy Group at NYSBC'

John D. Chodera, MSKCC, 'Redesigning Drug Design'

Oliver Clarke, Columbia (Hendrickson), 'Structures of a mammalian ryanodine receptor in open and closed states'

Erik Debler, Rockefeller (Blobel), 'A Structure-based Approach for Discovery of Novel Therapeutics for African Sleeping Sickness'

Nancy Greenbaum, Hunter College, 'Analysis of Conformational Exchange of Functional RNA Molecules By 19F NMR'

David  Hall, Albert Einstein Col. Med., 'Subcellular specializations of nematode neurons'

Barry Honig, Columbia, 'Relating cellular to molecular recognition'

Jinrang Kim, Columbia (Hunt), 'FRET to the transport substrate reveals a novel ATP-dependent transport mechanism'

Nina Liu, Albert Einstein Col. Med. (Lai), 'Structure and Function of Filovirus Fusion Glycoproteins in Membrane Environments'

Pat Loria, Yale U, 'Conformational exchange motions in enzyme-catalyzed phosphoryl transfer reactions'

Sean McSweeney, Brookhaven NL, 'First light at NSLS-II: new opportunities for Structural Biology'


Major and Other Sponsors: We greatly appreciate all our sponsors.



We gratefully acknowledge logistical support from the New York Structural Biology Center, the New York Academy of Sciences, and Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.

This is the 72nd meeting of the group, organized by Barry Honig and John Kuriyan, and continued by Leemor Joshua-Tor, Lawrence Shapiro, David Stokes, Ming Zhou, David Eliezer, and currently convened by David Cowburn, Iban Ubarretxena and John F. Hunt.

Pictures  of Summer 2014 meeting    

ABBIX Early Science Workshop at Brookhaven NL on January 28-29, 2015: Lectures and Planning Sessions for two new MX and one x-ray scattering beamline at NSLS-II.

Previous Meetings ;  Linkedin contact  ; This page's link for updated information.